Delaware Press Association encourages and rewards excellence in communication by offering many opportunities for recognition and professional evaluation through contests and awards for both professionals and students.

DPA Professional Communications Contest

The annual DPA Communications Contest, open to all professional communicators in Delaware, encourages and rewards excellence in communication. Judged by out-of-state communications professionals to ensure impartiality, the contest provides an opportunity to compete in various print or electronic broadcasting fields. All DPA contest winners are honored at the DPA Annual Meeting and Contest Awards Banquet each spring. First-place winners who are members of the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW) may enter the national competition.

The NFPW contest is two-tiered. The first tier of the contest is run at the state level. The DPA contest is separate from those of the other state affiliates, but because we share the contest site with them, you will see the NFPW banner on the contest Welcome page. Typing “Delaware” into the entry form as the name of the state affiliate, will place you and your entries in the DPA contest.

DPA Contest Director: Katherine Ward   Contact: 302-655-2175;



DPA Contest: The annual DPA Communications Contest is open to all professional communicators in the state of Delaware and nearby out-of-state communities. You do not have to be a member of DPA to enter the contest. Winners will be notified in March.

Select your best work published or broadcast between January 1, 2018, and December 31, 2018. The governing date is the date the broadcast was aired, the date printed on the publication, or the date e-published. If the entry is a series, use the publication date of the final article as the entry date, which allows the beginning article to have been published in the previous contest year.

National Contest: First-place award winners in the 2018 DPA Communications Contest will be eligible to enter the National Federation of Press Women annual competition if member dues of $100 ($80 national, $20 local) are received at NFPW Headquarters by February 19, 2019.

Contest Deadlines

Early bird: The early bird  deadline is 11:59 p.m., January 9, 2019.
Late for the worm: All  book entries must be submitted by 11:59 p.m., January 15, 2019.
All other entries must be submitted by 11:59 p.m., January 22, 2019;
Submit your entries by January 9 to avoid the $25 late fee.


Members: $30 for the 1st entry; $15 for subsequent entries.

Non-members: $35 for the 1st entry; $20 for subsequent entries.

College students: $5 per entry. Submit your entries and choose Pay Offline. When you get the total for all entries, pay through this link: COLLEGE STUDENTS CLICK HERE to pay by credit card or check.

Late Fee: $25 fee added to an entrant’s first entry submitted after January 9, 2019.

When you have submitted your entries, you may SAVE and logout without paying if you will be submitting more entries at a later time. If you submit more than one entry, all other entries will be charged at the discount rate.

On the View/Edit Entries & Pay page of the contest site, you may choose a) Pay Online to pay by credit card or b) Pay Offline  and send a check to the NFPW Contest Manager (name and address are listed on the contest site’s Payment page).

Your entries will not be official until they have been paid for, “submitted,” and show Accepted in the Status column.

Note: All DPA members paid through the end of 2018, or who have renewed for 2018, may enter at the member rate. If you are uncertain, contact

Membership Forms

To join or to renew your DPA or your NFPW/DPA membership, please fill out and submit a membership application as directed on the form you select below.

DPA Only: Join or renew by credit card or check

NFPW/DPA: New Member


First State High School Communications Contest

Delaware Press Association offers an annual High School Communications Contest for student journalists statewide, with an opportunity for those who win a first in the DPA contest to enter the NFPW national competition. From time-to-time we offer seminars and workshops for high school journalists and their advisers, focusing on issues such as ethics and editorial responsibility, the new technology, and First Amendment rights and responsibilities. We believe it is vital to support these bright young future journalists and citizens, and we treat them as professional colleagues.

Communicator of Achievement Award

The annual Communicator of Achievement Award is the highest honor DPA bestows on its members. First and foremost, the COA Award is given for a lifetime of achievement in the communications profession. And second, it recognizes exemplary service to the community and to humanity as well as to the profession, especially to Delaware Press Association and the National Federation of Press Women.

The DPA COA competes annually in the NFPW COA contest for the honor of being chosen the National Communicator of Achievement. DPA members have done well:

National Winners

  • Billie Travalini, DPA’s 2018 COA, received NFPW’s highest honor when named the NFPW National Communicator of Achievement at the national conference in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Read the press release on Billie and her accomplishments.
  • At the 2011, conference in Council Bluffs, Iowa, Beth Miller, of Wilmington, DPA president from 2006 – 2008, received the NFPW National COA honor. Click here to see a video of the interview with Beth on having won one of NFPW’s highest awards.
  • DPA’s 2002 COA Kay Wood Bailey of Wyoming, Del., was named National COA at the NFPW Communications Conference in Bismarck, N.D., in September 2002.

National Runners-up

  • John Watson received the National Runner-up award in 2014.
  • Rita K. Farrell was named the National Runner-up in 2004.