The DPA Board is made up of elected officers and appointed board members who serve two-year terms. Elections are held in even years. The board meets every other month to transact the business of the organization. The board and any ad hoc committees report to the general membership at the general membership meetings (held at least four times a year). The Annual Meeting is held in late April or early May.

DPA Board of Directors

DPA Officers


Mitch Topal

Vice President, Membership

Linwood Jackson


Anitra Johnson


Bob Yearick

DPA Directors

2018 DPA Communicator of Achievement

Billie Travalini

At-Large Director

Kim Burdick

At-Large Director

Roy Ivey

Events Coordinator

Karen Jessee

Executive Director

Katherine Ward

First Amendment (FAN) Liaison

Alan Garfield


Rich Barnett


Mark Fowser

Publicity Director

Cindy Cavett

Technology & Social Media

Michele Walfred

Website Director

David Yurkovich

Contest Directors

Professional Communications Contest

Katherine Ward

High School Communications Contest

Lydia Timmins